About ABS


Current Brahms Scholarship

Brahms Related Links

News & Events





About the American Brahms Society


Founded in 1983 on the occasion of the sesquicentenary of the birth of Johannes Brahms, the American Brahms Society is a non-profit, learned organization that actively seeks to foster and disseminate research on the life, music, and historical position of Brahms. The Society publishes a biannual Newsletter, issues a series of Brahms Studies, awards the Karl Geiringer Scholarship in Brahms Studies, and maintains a Brahms Archive and Research Center.

Members of the ABS include scholars, performing musicians, music teachers, scientists, doctors, lawyers, businessmen, and other lovers of the music of Brahms in North America, Europe, and Japan. The Society is governed by a Board of Directors which meets annually in conjunction with the national meeting of the American Musicological Society. Corresponding Directors link the Society with scholars, archives, Brahms societies, and research projects overseas.

Membership (now available on-line!)

The American Brahms Society cordially invites all who love the music of Brahms and support the Society's goals and projects to join its ranks. To join the American Brahms Society, you can either download the membership form (pdf) and return it with your check by mail, or you can join (or renew) electronically here.

The American Brahms Society is a non-profit organization. The IRS has determined that donations in excess of dues may be considered as charitable contributions.

back to top


The Board of Directors

Ryan McClelland, President (18-20)
Valerie Goertzen, Vice-President (18-20) 
Nicole Grimes, Secretary (18-20)
Marie Sumner Lott, Treasurer (18-20)

Styra Avins (Drew University) (16-20)
Daniel Beller-McKenna (University of New Hampshire) (15-19)
Paul Berry (Yale University) (16-20)
George Bozarth (University of Washington) (15-19)
David Brodbeck(University of California Irvine) (15-19)
Richard Cohn (Yale University) (15-19)
William P. Horne (Loyola University, New Orleans) (15-19)
Laurie McManus (Shenandoah Conservatory) (18-22)
Scott Murphy (University of Kansas) (16-20)
Heather Platt (Ball State University) (15-19)
Peter H. Smith (University of Notre Dame) (16-20)

Corresponding Directors

Cord Garben (ex officio; President, Brahms-Gesellschaft, Hamburg)
Otto Biba (Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien)
Ludwig Finscher (University of Heidelberg)
Otmar Zwiebelhofer (ex officio; President, Brahmsgesellschaft Baden-Baden)
Kurt Hofmann (Lübeck)
Siegfried Oechsle (ex officio; Johannes Brahms Gesamtausgabe)
Robert Pascall† (University of Nottingham)
Wolfgang Sandberger (ex officio; Brahms-Institut Lübeck)
Minoru Nishihara (ex officio; Japan Brahms Society)

Honorary Members

Bernice Geiringer †
Renate and Kurt Hofmann
Margit McCorkle
Thomas Quigley

Advisory Board

Walter Frisch (Columbia University)
Camilla Cai (Kenyon College)
Virginia Hancock, Secretary (Reed College)
Margaret Notley (University of North Texas)
Christoph Wolff (Harvard University)
James Webster (Cornell University)

Officials of the Society

Richard Cohn, Chair, Geiringer Committee
Department of Music
Yale Uni versity
469 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6609

Valerie Goertzen and William Horne, Newsletter Editors
College of Music
Loyola University
New Orleans, LA, 70118


Daniel Beller-McKenna, Membership Chair and Webmaster
Department of Music
University of New Hampshire
Durham, NH 03824

back to top


Copyright 2003